nervous wreck

My last prac begins tomorrow.
At a fancy private school.
I want to go back to my nice quiet little State school and hide in the familiar.
…but then I always get like this when I’m nervous.

I wrote this on my FB status the other day:
Why is it that during an ice-breaker, when the whole room has to go around and say their name and where they are from, I get so incredibly nervous? Like I know my name, I know where I’m from, this shouldn’t be a problem….”
nuts but true.
I know my maths and science. Apparently I seem to get this teaching gig. ….and yet I’m freaking out.

So if you don’t hear from me for a few days I’m either madly writing unit plans or have been gobbled up by the education machine….

6 thoughts on “nervous wreck

  1. Chookie says:

    Best of luck today! Now go in there and act with all the finesse of Sir Les Patterson — you know you want to.

  2. I hate that introduce myself thing, i always do a gimpy little laugh after saying my name like it is some kind of joke (it isn’t).

    I realise I am a little late but I hope you are having a lovely weekend reveling in your successful prac.

  3. leechbabe says:

    Good luck, I hope it goes well.

  4. Jayne says:

    Good luck, I know you’ll blitz it 😉

  5. Kelley says:

    Good luck sweetie. You know, and we know, you will rock their socks off.

    And I am exactly the same with the icebreakers. HATE THEM WITH A PASSION!

  6. corymbia says:

    Thanks for your encouragement … but …Hmmm – not sure about Expensive Private School.
    I sat through the first 2 observation classes as the elephant in the room because the teacher didn’t bother introducing me to the girls. (how rude is that!).
    But I was able to scaffold some of the problems for the girls in the remedial maths class which he related to teh whole class. He also taught 2 kick-arse maths lessons with everything I think should be in there. It was great to see and somethign for me to aim at (minues the rude non-introductory stuff).
    He might just be OK….

Leave a comment