Pulling myself out of my own funk.

I have not been very happy lately.

No real reason (aside from the obvious dead-husband / life is fucked thing.

…and as I’ve done before in times of stress, I turned to Pinterest.

…and I pin things that I think are funny or creative or yummy or fun or sarcastic or just plain awesome.

….and I while away an hour or so just looking at beauty and dreaming.

…and I think I have managed to pull myself out of the funk I have been in since death-week at the start of March:

  1. My Year 1s and I created the most amazing canvas for the school art show.  Ours is by far the best.  The inspiration came from a pinterest board on kid’s art.
  2.  I brushed up my photography skills and took some kick-arse portraits of a friend’s children during the week.  …and for once I was able to get that tricky back-lit light RIGHT due to a few tips I found a link to from a Pinterest pin – Huzzah!
  3. I made brownies from a recipe I found on Pinterest.  (kinda sabotaged my weight loss for the week though so will have to look into that).
  4. …and my garden is looking great due to pure inspiration I gleaned from looking at photos of garden pron on Pinterest.

I’m touching wood as I type, but barring having the Universe rain shit on me for a while ….. I think I am emerging from my apathy towards life.

No promises, but I hope it continues to work…..
Art canvas continued on 365 Project
(apologies for the crap photo – school camera with approximately .5 of a second to get the shot and on auto setting … will try to get a decent one on my camera later).

6 thoughts on “Pulling myself out of my own funk.

  1. Lynda M O says:

    Good, Amanda, I hope your upswing continues as winter heads your way.

  2. I only started using pinterest fairly recently and am still finding my way. Sounds like I am not making the most of it.

  3. Jayne says:

    I’m so happy to hear you’re finding some happy, somewhere 🙂
    That picture is great!

  4. megan says:

    hmm – pinterest. I do actually find that if I zone out into it for a bit, the intense spitting of nails at everything does seem to shift. If you’ve found so much practical inspiration in it, perhaps I need to spend far more time online….
    I have entered the orbit of death week. Less than one month to go.

  5. Best wishes to you. And the canvas is beautiful! Love its ethereal quality.

  6. bushbabe says:

    So awesome to hear this… what a great use for Pinterest. I do enjoy dipping my toes in for a while there I have to admit – how I wish there were more hours in the day to explore properly!! Love to you and kids.

    BB

Leave a Reply

