Spilling Over

Spilling Over is a repost of today’s post at Widow’s Voice

Spilling overhttp://www.blogger.com/img/blank.gif on 365 Project

Is it just me or does anyone else feel like they are coping most of the time but then something comes up that’s kind of significant, but kind of not and then you feel as lost, scared and alone as you did right back at the beginning?
…and then everything just spills over?

I was doing OK. I had started the new school year with an entirely new mandated curriculum and I was OK. I had everything planned out so that it would be fairly cruisy.

…and then I was given a second year level to plan across.

…and the stress built, but I was OK.

….and then a Huge Scary Python started visiting my chicken’s cage every night (it’s body is thicker than my arm).

…and I started to crack a little. Greg is the person who dealt with scary creatures.

…and then?

…then we had 10 inches of rain in two days.

…and then I discovered that all the money I’ve spent on drainage and fixing the problem from when it happened last time only mitigated the problem: there was water seeping into my garage again.

….and suddenly, I really wasn’t OK.

All of these stresses suddenly became insurmountable: too much for me to deal with.

…and meanwhile, I’m determinedly ‘coping’ lest my boss think I wasn’t coping and take away work.

…and my friends are telling me how strong I am (when they don’t see me weeping in the shower at midnight).

But then, Just One Person does something positive for me, without me needing to beg and suddenly I can cope again. I can pick up the pieces and keep moving forward.

4 thoughts on “Spilling Over

  1. I understand. I totally understand.

    And wish I could be there to hold your hand so we can weep together.

    x

  2. corymbia says:

    …and I know you do. I sooooo know you do. and it sucks that we both get this, but I’m glad we are metaphorically holding hands and having a good cry. Love you.XX

  3. bushbabe says:

    Thinking of you, my friend.
    Hugs
    BB

  4. I am sending hugs. And virtual chocolate.

Leave a Reply

