I am strong

I am strong.
I am incredibly strong.
I never knew how strong Before.

I wonder how I survived those first few minutes of knowing, those first few hours of screaming, that first night, week, month, year.

But I did.

…and so I know I am made of strong stuff.

I know it’s true because I am still here, raising two children, finding joy where I can get it
…. and I am not dead.

But sometimes I think I am so strong that people don’t see past the incredible feats of strength and endurance I am constantly displaying.

…and they forget that it takes every ounce of my strength to keep moving forward.

…and they let me carry too much of their load.

…and I do it because I am strong.

But I worry that I can only carry so much.

So I am going to pick and choose those extra things I must carry.

I’m not going to take on everyone’s minor problems.

Because I need every ounce of my strength for us.

(This is a repost of my post on Widow’s Voice this week)

12 thoughts on “I am strong

  1. Can I just let you know, that from what I see (read) and how you write, I get the impression you are doing an awesome job in achieving exactly what you have stated above? I draw strength from your posts all the time. x

  2. corymbia says:

    … humbled….

  3. Bush Babe says:

    I want you to know I think about you often – personally, wondering how you are getting through each hour, each day, and generally, wondering how the HELL I would cope in such a situation. I see you and I know that, as impossible as it appears to me, it IS possible.
    Not easy, never easy.
    If anyone else thinks that they need a good hard slap.
    ((HUGS))
    BB

  4. corymbia says:

    love you

  5. corymbia says:

    you and me, we are made of strong stuff. XX

  6. Suz says:

    You are amazing. Picking and choosing is hard but you are so right about conserving some of that steel just for you and the kids. Sending love and extra steel xx

  7. corymbia says:

    Thanks Suz XX

  8. corymbia says:

  9. You’re incredibly strong. I just wish you had a choice about when to be strong and when to take a break.

  10. Jayne says:

    (((hugs)))
    You amaze me with your strength xxx

Leave a Reply

