Nine years ago today ….

…. I became a mother.

I had finally achieved my life’s ambition – to be a wife and mother and have my very own perfect family.

Seriously.

That’s always what I wanted to be, despite my prizes and academic awards and the push from every direction to focus on my career and climb that fickle beast known as “the ladder”.

…and I achieved a lot before I became a mother.  …. before I became a wife.

I got myself a science degree and backed it up with first class honours the following year and a PhD shortly thereafter…. courtesy of a cushy scholarship which some bigwigs saw fit to give me .

I travelled the world and spent a few months living and working in Africa.

I ran a research station and worked as a scientist managing huge budgets, staff and still trying to do actual science in the middle somewhere….

But all I ever really wanted was to be a wife and mother.

…and on this day nine years ago, my beautiful girl was born and Greg and I were so proud of ourselves we thought we wold burst with happiness.

I had Done It.  My own nirvana, right there in the form of a tiny baby girl and my husband’s loving embrace.

I never had post-natal depression … I had post-natal elation.

…and we were lucky enough to repeat the performance two years later when I gave birth to our son.

My wonderful husband AND my pigeon pair: my perfect family.  Nirvana.

…but I only got to have it all for seven and a half years.

Not long enough.  not long enough at all.

On this day last year, all I could think about was what I’d lost.

But this year, I am choosing to remember what I have … two very wonderful children and to have known the love of a husband and father who was perfectly imperfect.

So Happy 9th birthday, darling K.  I am so lucky to be your Mum.

XXXX

4 thoughts on “Nine years ago today ….

  1. S says:

    That was beautiful!

  2. Jayne says:

    Happy birthday, K and I hope you all have a double dose of frivilous jocularity xxx

  3. BB (Amanda) says:

    Happy Birthday K!!! Hope there are lots of birthday cuddles and giggle-worthy moments. Hugs to you all. ♥ BB

  4. jeanie says:

    Late birthday wishes from here – and hugs to you all. 9 is a beautiful age.

Leave a Reply

