Floods

Just reporting in to let people know not to worry about me….. I live in a high and dry area.

Thankfully.

The water problems I’ve had at my home are caused by groundwater flowing down into the house, which could never become intense flash flooding because we simply do not have a great amount of hill above us. Rather, the water is slow and is persistently seeping into my garage.

But my city …. oh my poor city.

…and my State!  Two-thirds of my State is flood affected. and it’s a BIG State of 1,852,642 km2 (that’s 715,309 sq miles).

We watched in awe as mother nature unleashed her cycle of flooding rains onto our dry and parched land.

Farmers I know (well – our family actually, maybe not everyone) were actually cheering a little despite the water, as our farm house is high and dry but we have water in the dams and will soon have feed in the pastures.

But the stories coming out of Toowoomba and Grantham are truly horrific.  These are the towns who have brought us to our knees as we watched flash floods toss cars like toys and rip houses from their stumps.

So many houses have been inundated with smelly, muddy flood waters.  So many people have lost everything they have.

…and at least  twelve people have lost their lives.

I believe that one of those 12 is an old school friend of mine ….. I’m hoping this is not the case, but I fear the worst.

So I thank fellow bloggers and friends who’ve contacted me to check on me – I am fine, but feel less alone through your kindness.

But other’s here are not so lucky … and I am breaking my rule of not flogging anything on my blog by posting this …. but if you have  a few spare dollars, there are folks here who could really use them: http://www.qld.gov.au/floods/donate.html

Thank you.

XA

6 thoughts on “Floods

  1. lyndamo says:

    Heart-breaking to watch… Raging torrents of water and debris crashing right through your downtown(s) and hinterlands. Awake and aware and keeping good thoughts right at the surface of my consciousness for PM Dillard and all Australia’s citizenry and her animals and birds and crops and forests and seashores. Hugging you with invisible arms.

  2. […] swirling, creeping flood-waters have inundated the city.  Of course we are fine here (aside from the power outage that initially sounded like it would be 2 days long, but in fact was […]

  3. It is unbelievable. I’ve been checking in on your other bog and saw you were Ok, but nonetheless … it is horrific.

    Take care, and stay safe.

  4. Jayne says:

    It’s just so mind-bending because, at the back of it all, is the knowledge we cannot possibly compete or win against such a massive force xxxx

  5. twangy says:

    Glad you’re safe. Terrible times – really makes you feel so powerless.

    Be well, A.

  6. Beet says:

    very glad that you and yours are safe.

    It’s just unfathomable that this has happened.

Leave a Reply

