On “road safety” ads:

they have no power over me.

I am currently seeing quite a few messages in social media regarding “road safety” ads … well, this may make me unpopular, but I don’t see the point of them.

They just cause distress in people who already try to drive safely.  People like me.

I see the warnings on speeding.

I see the warnings on mobile phones.

I see the warnings on alcohol.

None of it makes a lick of difference when push comes to shove: people will do what they think they can get away with.

It seems to me that most people can only drive properly when they think the police are watching. Ergo – they know what they are supposed to do but actively choose not to obey road rules.

Or in our case, you can be the safest, most experienced driver in the world, but circumstance  / karma / fate/ the fricken “Hand of God” can still fuck you over bigtime.

That’s what the witnesses said:  “It was like the hand of God came and swept them into the truck”.

I’d say it must have been the hand of the devil.

People don’t ever think it will happen to them when the cut off a truck before a red light.

When they speed through a school zone.

When they tailgate.

When they pointlessly switch lanes to gain a 5 second advantage.

So short of getting into a car with drunk teenagers, I just don’t see the point of the big road safety ad campaign.  They only affect the people who already get it.

I’d rather the money was spent on extra police as it seems that the sight of a speed camera or highway patrol car is the ONLY thing that I’ve seen that makes drivers change their behaviour.

Unless you are like me and already know what all those signs with numbers in circles mean and CHOOSE to obey them all the time, whether the police are watching  or not.

7 thoughts on “On “road safety” ads:

  1. Lynda says:

    It is true, most people only behave when they are being directly observed. As a former ambulance person (EMT) I have seen so many wrecks that were avoidable if only someone had been minding what was happening on the road instead of anywhere else. Continue to drive with awareness, Amanda, just because we know it is the right thing to do.

  2. Bush Babe says:

    I agree – perhaps they impact on a teenager or two somewhere, perhaps not. I often wonder what they do to people who have been affected by road accidents – the extra trauma it causes. I can only imagine.

    I guess in the end we can only be responsible for our own vehicles… the rest is up to circumstance.

    Hugs
    BB

  3. I really don’t think an advert ever does much. As you say, people know the rules but they choose not to follow them. Unfortunately it takes a life changing experience to make people act.

  4. Jayne says:

    I agree, pour the money into more police patrolling the roads, it’s far more effective.

  5. Rhu says:

    I agree. And I do NOT understand why we have to WARN people that safety camera or speed camera is in use at any given destination. Or a sign advising an RBT 100 meters in advance. Isn’t that saying “so hey folks, you can do what you want when we are NOT watching, but since we are now – or will be in 100 meters – you better be by the law by jingo. Go do what you want when we are not looking.”

    Frikken Stupid message sending.

  6. Liz says:

    I absolutely agree. Waste of time. People who need to listen/see the warnings are not the sort of people who listen to anyone else anyway. I see so many doing all the things we are told not to do and it sucks.

  7. Chookie says:

    And I thought it was only me who felt like this!!

    But frankly, a little more rigour with driving tests would help. And if you get busted for driving like an idiot, you should have to sit the driving test again.

    OTOH about 7 in every 1000 drivers is driving without a licence, or with a cancelled or suspended licence. I think they’re all on Sydney’s M4!

Leave a Reply

