So it turns out that I do actually love being at the farm…

… I just don’t love being at the farm with inlaws.

We spent a couple of days at the farm after Christmas (and before the sugly isters got in to case the joint).  For a change, we were by ourselves and I really enjoyed it.

I think it was the fact that nobody trying to get me to fire up the wood stove in 30 degree heat to boil the living daylights out of a lump of corned beef, make eleventy billion cups of tea “for the men”, making *grape* jam (for the love of God … why turn grapes into jam????) or generally being bossed about when all I want to do is sit somewhere cool and read a book.

But when we were there by ourselves I had a great time.  The kids rode their bikes around the house paddock and terrorised the house cats and frogs or went about with Mr Fixit as he moved some cows around and generally mucked about.

I snapped off some pics while we were there…

Cows and calves in the house paddock (so lovely and green at the moment 🙂

Where old trucks come to die
Photobucket

Happy cats (not that I particularly like cats but they do ease the mice problem in the shed)
Photobucket

Joe Blake came around for a visit…. (sorry for the dodgy colour – quick flash photography at night is never something that works particularly well for me)
Photobucket

Mind you, when I say that my brother-in-law and his wife are somewhat less than tidy, I’m not kidding. This is what we arrived to in the shared bedroom: none of it belongs to us.

(yes, they are dirty clothes and food wrappers).

…and the kitchen.

I’m itching to set some ground rules over each family selecting a room to keep their own crap in and leaving the bloody place reasonably clean and tidy. As it was, Mr Fixit and I spent about two hours cleaning when we arrived to make it somewhat livable.

Not that I ever want to live there or anything … but I am falling in love with the place 🙂

9 thoughts on “So it turns out that I do actually love being at the farm…

  1. I was about to say it looked idyllic until I saw the snake.

    The fucking snake!

    I need a lie down.

  2. corymbia says:

    LOL – WFI, If I reassured you that it was a relatively harmless python (carpet snake / Morelia sp) would that make you feel better?

    Jayne – I don’t know how I’ll go, with making an impact on the BIL and his wife, but my plan is to make Mr Fixit tell them.

    Missy Boo – they are complete pigs. Untidy I can deal with but filthy and stinky I can’t (don’t let me get started on the *dirty nappies* they left in the house).

    Kelley – My Nan was like this as well – some old fashioned notion that “the men” are so helpless that they can’t feed themselves. I know full well that my hubby finds farm work “relaxing”, so I don’t feel the need to play the 1950s housewife at all.

    Ahh Beyond – this is the brother-in-law’s family – the co-owners – that make all the mess. I’ve never seen anyone live in that much filth before. We visited their house a while back (they live 4 hours away so its not an everyday thing to visit) and we brought dinner with us (if you saw their kitchen, you’d understand). As it was I had to wash a sink full of plates *while they were just sitting there* before we could eat.
    AS for the farm house, one of the sister-in-laws didn’t dispute the will and she is welcome anytime. The other two are NOT WELCOME … but they are clinging to the part of the will that left them the contents of the house and they’ll probably take everything in spite.

  3. Jayne says:

    Yep, ground rules for sure, you’re not their mother to clean up after them!
    Hope it all works out and you start to enjoy the farm more 😉

  4. MissyBoo says:

    Glad you enjoyed yourself, but with in’laws that messy it is definately time for ground rules!

  5. Kelley says:

    ahhhhh, inlaws…

    and cups of tea for ‘the men’? Reminds me of MOTY with her crap about ‘you should be feeding your man meat, men need meat’ Oh PLEASE!!!

  6. beyond says:

    I reckon I could relax there (except I’d need a tidy bedroom to do so).

    Now, how much are you charging the sisters per night when they want to stay there?

  7. Aprill says:

    At least if they take everything there won’t be any crap left hanging around. lol

    The rest of the farm looks lovely.

  8. debby says:

    I like the truck. I don’t like Joe Blake. I like the cows. I don’t like the mess. I like the cats. I don’t like…hey…this seems sort of like plucking a daisy and chanting, ‘I like it, I like it not, I like it…’

  9. Dan says:

    I’m writing this as you commented over on Xbox4NappyRashes site congratulating him on the birth of his daughter.

    I am writing it here because this post is down the page a bit and i don’t want him to see it 🙂

    A while ago, before Martin’s (xbox4nappyrash) wife got pregnant I promised I would post a youtube video of me singing “Yes” by Mcalomont & Butler whilst accompanying myself on the ukulele to celebrate the birth of their child.

    This will not be a pretty sight as I can neither sing, nor really play the ukulele (this isn’t false modesty – I really can’t).

    However what I thought might make it really cool would be instead of just a straight video I put together a montage of videos shot by readers of his blog all celebrating – i.e. dancing, sticking thumbs up, cheering, holding up signs, that sort of thing. It would have to be something that would work without sound as I would put my (awful) soundtrack over the top of it.

    It would be great if you could participate. If you send me a short 5-15 second video clip (or at a push a photo, but a video would be much better) along with your name and blog then I’ll put it together with other submissions and get something ready for the end of the week. I think it would be a really nice thing to do for martin to show him and E how pleased we are for him. and Martin has been incredibly supportive of me and my various projects in the past.

    Thanks for taking the time to read this. My email address is dghughes28@yahoo.co.uk

    Thanks again.

    Dan.

Leave a Reply

