The final results are in…

It seems my response to NaPoBloMoDoReMe … thing was to post a single post for the entire month of November.  Sorry ’bout that …
Not to worry – I’m back and am now on holidays having finished my teaching prac with outstanding results (yay me).  It seems my supervisors saved all their glowing comments for the final report … lest my head swell to gigantic proportions whilst still on prac.

One of the sweetest things was having one of my students come up to me at a completely unrelated event a week or so after prac and thank me profusely for teaching her science that term.

Actually, I am feeling pretty chuffed with my final course result – straight 7s (High Distinctions) this semester and I’ll graduate with distinction. Two of my assignments are being used as exemplars for future education students.  Given the amount of crap the universe has chucked at my family this year, I’m feeling pretty bloody good about myself 🙂
I also suspect I have won the Middle Years of Schooling Association Award for outstanding achievement … but am not entirely sure as their e-mail inviting me to the awards night read: “I am pleased to advise that as a result of your outstanding achievement in your course that you have been nominated to receive the Middle Years of Schooling Association Award.”  I guess I’ll find out soon enough:  graduation is next Monday and the awards night is on Tuesday.

Mind you – I’d be happy enough just to secure a job in a local school. I’ve chatted to a few local schools about doing supply next year and they seem interested but seem to have plenty of teachers available.

In other news, Dad had a shunt put in his head about a week ago (his tumour had not grown, but it was encased in a fluid sack which was pushing on the bits of brain that help you walk, pee and talk without confusing reality with imagination). So far it’s looking like it has done the magic trick …. he’s currently in a rehab unit learning to walk and pee on cue again, but so far so good.  He manages to walk around with a walker and line himself up with chairs and doorways now and he doesn’t have to think HOW to walk anymore.  Another week of therapy and we hope he’ll be running the marathon.
Oh ..and another thing. ….

We’ve just come back from a glorious week at Bribie Island  where I managed to embarass impress my children each day with my boogie-boarding prowess.  We built sandcastles (enormous ones), some in the shape of pyramids, we caught pipis, the kids terrorised local walkers and cyclists rode their bikes along the bike paths, and we walked and walked and walked along the (mostly) gorgeous beaches.  It was a lovely holiday  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

UPDATE

#1:  I did win the Middle Years of Schooling Association Award – which basically means I topped my course 🙂  Nice little drinks and nibbles ceremony with students who got medals in their Bachelors degrees and who completed outstanding Masters courses in education.

#2: Dad is home and getting himself around the house quite well … so much better than before.  He is also rediscovered his love of whinging and is driving us all mad with his tales of how awful hospital was.  <—–This is how we know he is well.

10 thoughts on “The final results are in…

  1. You are some kinds of star. Congratulations.

  2. Jayne says:

    Congratulations!
    Well done and I’m sure you’ll get that award as you deserve it 🙂
    Great news about your dad, too, good to hear he’ll be home for Xmess 🙂

  3. MissyBoo says:

    Congratulations and well done 🙂

    Happy to hear your dad is doing well and improving

  4. Chookie says:

    Congratulations, and I hope you win the award! Wonder how many finallists there are?

    Best wishes to your Dad too. I hate to think what a weeing lesson involves!!!

  5. rhubarb says:

    Well done, that’s great news.

    You were not far over the ditch at all from me., were you?

  6. Bush Babe says:

    Oh well done… and a bit jealous of the Bribie holiday!!
    🙂
    BB

  7. leechbabe says:

    I’m envious of your holiday.

    Glad the shunt is helping your dad out.

    Awesome news about the study 🙂 Do keep us updated about the award.

  8. Kelley says:

    ditto what everyone else said. BUT, rule of the internet, pics or it didn’t happen! I want to see you boogie boarding!

  9. corymbia says:

    thanks all.
    …and Kelly – pics of me in togs you shall NEVER see 😛

  10. […] even started adding that I not only graduated with distinction but I  topped my course and got an award and that not many graduates got jobs this year, in order to combat the unwanted […]

Leave a Reply

