5 weeks to go

If I wasn’t being graded on this whole teaching prac thing, I’d be enjoying myself immensely.

But as I’m being graded, I’m a nervous wreck.

Mind you, my science supervisor has said that in order to fail at this point, I’d have to have a catastropic failure of safety in the lab or fail to get the students to pay attention. He said he’s down to picking on minute things I can improve on …. already. I’m taking this as a good sign, but trying to make sure my bases are covered.

As for maths though … I’ve got the support class. Its surprising just how much support they need. For example, I had a pictrue on the board (which they also had in front of them), pointed to the point that was highest on the page (we were looking at a line graph) and asked the girls to do the same. Quite a few of them had trouble locating the highest point.
I *think* I got through to them on Friday … but they’ll have forgotten this by the next time I see them.

I just hope I can reach them better this week.

7 thoughts on “5 weeks to go

  1. Is it just me or isn’t that quite a broad spectrum:
    “catastropic failure of safety in the lab” – very unlikely you know your stuff
    “fail to get the students to pay attention” – really easy to do

    Your progress so far shows you’ll pass with flying colours, but just so you don’t think I am taking it for granted, Good Luck.

  2. corymbia says:

    Thanks WFI and MB – The Yr 8s were horrid today. So were the Year 9s. I’m blaming the wind as they were horrid for both me and their regular teacher.
    My St was great though – I walked up to him at the end of the lesson, told him all the things that I’d change for the next lesson and he pretty much said that everyone has days like this and themere fact that I could tell him what went wrong, why, and how to change it meant that I was doing OK.
    Tomorrow, I’m going with a more hands-on approach for them. They can start with a prac and we’ll move on from there.
    Wish me luck – I’ve got the 9s and 8s tomorrow in double lessons…..

  3. MissyBoo says:

    Best wishes, I know you’ll be fine 🙂

  4. Chookie says:

    Good luck again, but I’m sure you’ll be fine! Hope the nervous wreck feeling goes away.

  5. leechbabe says:

    Hope it has been going better since the bad day.

    I have memories of my math teacher sitting with me one lunch hour and trying to get me to understand that Y=3 in the problem 2 x Y = 6. I just can’t see letters as numbers. Many years of maths tutoring later and I get it but still have vivid memories of that horrid lunch hour.

  6. Kelley says:

    I just hope I can reach them better this week.

    That speaks volumes. You are going to rock this shizzle. Cause you care and are not just giving up on them.

Leave a Reply

