Happy Blogday

This lil blog turns 1 today.

I’m surprised I’ve managed to keep it going so long AND I’m surprised that anyone actually reads my deranged mutterings … but I’m glad you do.

So in honour of this little milestone, I just wanted to say how grateful I am to have met you all and gotten to know you through your blogs.

…and I want to know more about you.

You have read patiently while I’ve muttered about studying to be a teacher which is what I always really wanted to be when I was growing up … I just got a little side tracked by science on the way.

So I want to know what you wanted to be when you were growing up … and whether you actually got to do you dream job or whether you also got side tracked into something different.

12 thoughts on “Happy Blogday

  1. Marita says:

    Happy blog anniversary :)

    I wanted to be a teacher

    ROFL

    My parents took me to see a psychologist who told them I’d be bored teaching primary school so I got pushed into studying to teach secondary school. I started by getting my Bachelor of Arts and long before I finished decided not to do the Dip.Ed. I really don’t like teenagers.

    Now I wish I’d been strong enough as a teenager to stick with what I wanted to do which is teach primary school.

    When my girls are both settled into full time school I’m going to look at getting certificate 3 so I can work in childcare.

  2. Happy Blogoversary

    I wanted to be (in chronological order):
    A Dog
    A Farmer
    A Tree Surgeon
    A Museum Curator
    A Marketeer

    I’m now a business development manager – I don’t even know what that is.

    I’d rather be a Mum.

  3. Jayne says:

    Happy blog-birthday!

    I wanted to be Queen Bitch of The Universe.
    I’m still working on that one….

  4. muser says:

    w00 w00! Happy Bloggyversary!

  5. muser says:

    oh i should answer your question.

    I wanted to be a Forensic Scientist.
    It never happened.

  6. Amanda says:

    I’m loving these comments
    Do it Leechbabe. (It frustrates me why some people think primary teaching isn’t a good use of ones brain…. so far, I think its much harder than secondary / tertiary teaching).

    A *dog*? really WFI? Mind you I remember a girl in my Yr 7 class wanting to be a dear when she grew up … she was 12 at the time. …and I hope you will get your ultimate job soon.

    Jayne – surely you are close to your goal?

    muser – interesting choice

  7. Happy 1st blogaversary!

    A nurse

    an air hostess

    a journalist

    two out of three is not bad!

  8. Chookie says:

    Happy Bloggeburtstag! (I reckon it sounds better in Dutch)

    My early ambition was to be a zoologist. I started Uni thinking I’d be a psychologist, then found Psych rather dull. The recession meant that only certain mobs in Canberra were interested in my Russian degree, so I cast around for a short course that might net me a job. Librarianship it was, and so it has been — and I really enjoy it! How’s that for serendipity?

  9. corymbia says:

    MQ – you’ve done well then.
    WFI :)
    Chookie – I thought your degree was in Science. No wonder you know so much about stuff like Borsch :) … and Librarian is a pretty good choice for a career :)

  10. MissyBoo says:

    Happy Blogoversary!

    All through high school, I wanted to be a Home Economics teacher, and then the gas oven at school blew up in my face – singing my fringe (very dramatic because it was the BIG fringe 80s) and that was in my last year of school. I didn’t know what to do then, so I became a nurse, and then did a Sport Science degree and did private training, some bar work, some other jobs and then some how became a midwife?

    And now I’m a Project Officer. No, don’t really know what that means either, but I’m enjoying it ;)

  11. beyond says:

    Well, I was going to say that you know everything about me from Facebook. I’m fairly honest there, with the exception of the fake name. :)

    But then you threw in a curve ball – what did I wan to be when I was younger? I wanted to be a Chiropractor or an Accountant. Seriously. I was a maths whiz but hated to admit it and it seemed a good career choice for someone good with numbers. Chiropractor because I had the best chiropractor ever and I found it interesting.

    Buuuutttttt… I fell in lurve, had a boyfriend my father hated and ended up leaving school and leaving home. Silly me. So now I work for Govco, a job I used to love that frustrates just that little bit more every day.

Leave a Reply

