In typical style….

… I’m beginning a university semester with a parent in hospital. After the shocking start to last semester, I though this one would be plain sailing…. but…

Mum and Dad managed to hitch their caravan to the car,  travel 1500 km away to visit my brother in New South Wales, and enjoy a day or so to relax from the long drive.  But when Mum and my sister-in-law and kids left for their much anticipated shopping excursion to a nearby town, (leaving Dad at my brother’s house with  a good supply of tea, biscuits and the remote) …..  Dad collapsed.  They arrived home 5 hours later to find him passed out on the floor with a freezing wind blowing on him.

He’s in a regional NSW  hospital where they are pumping him full of antibiotics to fight his pneumonia (which they think caused the collapse) and now a bowel obstruction is causing problems (he had a bowel tumour removed last year and is prone to bowel obstructions as a result of scarring … he suffered an obstruction last December so he doesn’t want to go through that again).

All I can do is leave him in the care of the Drs and nurses at the hospital and pray that he’ll be OK. I can’t even visit him (well, not without a lot of organisation and a few plane tickets). Thank God my brother and his wife are there to look after him and Mum.  My brother has taken charge very effectively which I am grateful for but it’s normally my job to be the responsible one … and I hate feeling so useless.

8 thoughts on “In typical style….

  1. Chookie says:

    Oh dear! But I’m glad it happened when he was near help and that your brother and his wife are close by and able to look after your Mum. Best wishes and prayers for your Dad’s recovery.
    Now go and eat some chocolate… you know you want to…

  2. leechbabe says:

    Oh no 😦 Not again. The fates need to leave you and your family alone for a while.

    Prayers for you, your dad and mum and the family.

  3. Jayne says:

    Crikey, Amanda, I hope everything is ok with your Dad!
    (((hugs))) to you and yours, hoping the guardian angels are watching over your parents now.

  4. M & B says:

    Hoping your dad recovers quickly. Thankfully, he has family around and your brother is doing a good job.

  5. Oh no. I’m so sorry to hear this. It must be incredibly hard with him so far away. My thoughts are with you.

  6. magikquilter says:

    Amanda… hoping dad is doing better…he was not bad at all last time we “spoke” and he must have felt good to travel. My father told me that he passed out from the flu recently and he is a tough Irishman who never fusses so these things …flu and pneumonia are pretty rough. Do hope he is better and you can concentrate on your studies

  7. jeanie says:

    Oh goodness, that IS rough. I hope he is in good hands and his recovery is good.

  8. corymbia says:

    Thanks all. We still don’t really know what is going on. He’s been transferred to another hospital and the plan was to induce a coma and intubate for 6 days (presumabely for the pneumonia) but not sure if this is still the case.
    Good news is that the blockage cleared itself (spectacularly I’m told).
    Waiting for more news …

Leave a Reply

