Inappropriate Funeral Conversation #1

When you hold a funeral in a large rocky paddock which is apparently the local cemetery, you get to fit a lot of people in.
People I don’t really know because we live 3 hours drive away from the district.

So when you are introduced to a woman who looks to be at least 110 years old and are told that she was your husband’s primary school teacher, you are not quite expecting her to:
a) launch into a detailed account of everything that’s happened in her life since she last taught your husband (boring – but people do tend to get attacks of the brain farts when talking to the recently bereaved – so I can forgive this), or
b) start mouthing off about the upcoming State election and talk about “that bloody Bligh woman in Brisbane” as if we *must* share the same political views because she taught my husband to read in 1972!, or
c) generally bitch and moan about how rude city people are … ummm *Hello* lady but where did I just tell you that we lived???

Actually there is often talk of “country people” being better than “city people” whenever I visit. … and its not directed at me personally – at least I think its not. It just seems to come up in conversation a lot. I don’t really see that much difference myself. Wonder what it is that they seem to notice and get offended about when they see “city people”????

8 thoughts on “Inappropriate Funeral Conversation #1

  1. corymbia says:

    Don’t mean to offend anyone with the “country / city people” observation. It just seems to come up in conversation a lot and I don’t really know why.

  2. leechbabe says:

    What a strange conversation to have at a funeral. Most conversations I’ve had at funerals have seemed oddly surreal and out of place but that one really takes the cake.

  3. Hideously offended by the city / county comment. As a former country person, turned city, I certainly hope that I have developed an abrasive, rude exterior that causes me to snub any country bumpkin that I meet!

    What a shame though, you could have got some real dirt on how your husband once peed in his pants aged 5 at school and you get that dross instead.

    Hope the rest of the funeral wasn’t too traumatic.

  4. jeanie says:

    lol having been a bumpkin who has lived in the big smoke and am back in the blocks, I find that I just have to have a few internal giggles at the ludicrations of the various “thems” and “uss” (darn – could have asked her how to spell that one, an apostrophe is totally inappropriate).

    I find that when talking to one of such an era, to really peeve them talk really loudly about 3 foot above their right ear with very small words. Works on soap operas, works in real life.

  5. Jayne says:

    What a weird conversation to have at a funeral!
    Could have always nudged the old girl and reminded her that she was next…

  6. corymbia says:

    leechbabe – surreal was the word!
    WFI – so sorry to offend your country sensibilities with my fast-paced city- type drivel ;)(…and from what she was telling me about herself and her family That I Don’t Know, I doubt she’d remember much of what hubby did as a kid)
    jeanie – what is it with the “thems and uss” ? (and not just with the spelling). Must remember the soap opera trick next time.
    Jayne – I like your style 🙂 I would really have stirred up the country / city rudeness thing then 😉

  7. Greta says:

    I hate uncomfortable conversations with strangers. I’m a country bumpkin – people are people

  8. corymbia says:

    My thoughts exactly Greta.

Leave a Reply

