The good news and the terrible…

The good news….

My Mother-in-law’s breast cancer seems to be confined to her left breast.  Scans have not shown any secondary tumours.

The terrible news is that, whilst checking out possible causes for her pneumonia, the doctors have discovered a *7cm* long aortic aneurysm.

The aorta is the main artery coming out of your heart.

An aneurysm is a weakening in the wall of a blood vessel.

A 7cm aortic aneurysm is a big bugger of an aneurysm.

If  it ruptures, there is virtually no time to do anything but hold her hand as she bleeds to death.

We are in shock again for the second time in a month.

Being the information sponge that I am, I have asked Doctor Google for some answers … but he’s being cagey like always.

I’m hoping that they can manage her in the short term with drugs.

I’m hoping that the cancer is so slow growing that it will remain a secondary issue for the time being.

I’m praying for calmness because I’m not entirely sure exactly what I should be praying for.

*************************

Update 21/2/09, 10 am: We rushed 3.5 hours up to see MIL in hospy yesterday as we got an early morning call to say the aneurysm was not good and we should be there.  She was stable when we got there.  They care-flighted her back here (capital city) last night as we drove the 3.5 hours back home.  We’ll find out if they will attempt surgery today – I hope.

8 thoughts on “The good news and the terrible…

  1. leechbabe says:

    Dear lord that is nasty.

    Praying for you to find that calm.

  2. corymbia says:

    Leechbabe and Greta – thanks so much for you thoughts and prayers. It really does mean a lot to me that other’s are thinking of our family in amongst all the other hardships people are facing.

  3. greta says:

    Wow… all the best. That sounds pretty terrifying… I’ve recently started a little prayer book – I’ll add your family to the list. xxx,

  4. You aren’t given a break are you?

    I don’t know what to say, other than I am hoping with you.

  5. corymbia says:

    Thanks WFI – it means a lot to me that you can hope with me.
    (I’m talking with the big fella upstairs about you too you know).

  6. jeanie says:

    Oh my – is there any surgery they can do for the aorta fix? I am glad the cancer was confined and I hope you get some quality time yet with her.

  7. corymbia says:

    Surgery seems a remote option – at the moment she would probably end up having a longer life but at great cost to quality of life.
    We’re taking it a day at a time….

  8. […] … I’m beginning a university semester with a parent in hospital. After the shocking start to last semester, I though this one would be plain sailing…. […]

Leave a Reply

