It’s just a cephalopod Mum….

We love watching Doctor Who in our house (yes I know that technically I should were a great big “geek” stamp on my forehead but I’m not technomalogically minded enough to fit the description).

My kids love this show.  They’ve always watched it and have never batted an eyelid (but have freaked out while watching “The Wizard of Oz”).  Doctor Who is big on scary monsters but the portrayed violence is actually pretty minor and the theme is that all life is sacred.

OK enough with the justification…

My four-year-old son told me why he wasn’t scared of Daleks:

“Mummy”

yes

“Don’t you know that Daleks are just pretend”.
(Mr H starts most statements with “Don’t you know…”)

why

“Don’t you know that they are just octopuses inside”.

Oooook…

~~~~~~~~~

I’m still trying to figure out how an octopus pretending to be a monster is classified as un-scary in the mind of a four year old.

… oh wait … maybe he’s seen this clip….

4 thoughts on “It’s just a cephalopod Mum….

  1. Greta says:

    The sound card in my computer seems to be playing up – I guess the dialogue revealed the connection? I was absolutely terrified of dotor who as a kid.

    But then, I watched monkey magic – now it’s out on DVD, with a M rating because of the “frequent violence!” When did that happen?

    My big gripe with kids movies today is not about the violence, but the way the characters tend to talk to each other. Being sarcastic and rude is portrayed as being funny and cool. I really hate this, and most kids movies seem to be like it.

    Hey, the new doctor is a bit gorgeous, isn’t he? What’s his side kick like? It looks great.

  2. corymbia says:

    Ahh – if you know Monty Python, it was the Spanish Inquisition audio dubbed over the vision.

    …and the current Doctor (David Tennant) is waaay gorgeous … and teamed with John Barrowman .. swoon.
    (this clip is of the previous Doctor).
    I’m a little bit upset that they are replacing the current Doctor in the next series.

  3. Greta says:

    Your little boy sounds so cute. I am loving this age, the things that come out of their mouths. One of these days I’m going to get a book and record it – it’s so magic and I’ve forgotten so much… thanks to the cursed mummy-brain!

  4. corymbia says:

    Ha – that’s most of the reason I blog so that I can record these sorts of things somewhere they can find it when they are older and I have dementia.

Leave a Reply

