Cross-stitch fever

When I’m stressed about something I can’t sit still.  I can’t watch TV and I can’t concentrate.

So I tend to find myself doing one of two things:

Option A: Don industrial strength gloves and begin cleaning grime (currently, my oven is so clean you could eat off it and the bath tub so  sparkly the  kids no longer exit the bath with more grime than when they hopped in)

Option B: Turn on the tele and do some craft.

I go though phases of not making anything for months and then go madly finishing off projects and making new things.

Here’s an almost-finished cross-stitch still mounted on the awesome stand my hubby made me:
Photobucket

I don’t really like cats, but I do like the colours in this cross-stitch.

and here are some I’ve done previously:

Photobucket
Waratahs

Photobucket

Grevilleas

Photobucket

Photobucket

and my beloved chooks

Then of course there are the weird things I crochet:

Photobucket

I seem to have a thing for chooks.

In a  strange kind of way, many works I’ve done remind me of the great times of stress in my life.  When my beloved Pop died, I made cushions which my mother has.
The waratah and grevilleas were done when we were first trying (and repeatedly  failing) to get pregnant: a years worth of worry there.
The cross-stitched hen and rooster were done when we were living nearly 2000km away from family and friends and I was incredibly homesick.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

So if you’re reading this, I’d like to know how you deal with stress.   I NEED all the tips I can get.

7 thoughts on “Cross-stitch fever

  1. leechbabe says:

    That sounds very similar to me, I cross stitch as well or I clean, clean, clean. Night before Annie started school I was manically cleaning the house, hubby thought I was nuts. My theory was if anything bad happened at least the house was clean so it was one less worry.

    If I can manage it a long long walk away from people but thats been harder to come by with little kids in the house.

  2. Wow such beautiful cross stitching. I love the colours of the cats too. It all looks so intricate. I am not very crafty and I find the most common stress relief for me happens to be in a good bottle of cabernet-merlot!
    I am sorry to hear things are so stressful at the moment Amanda, I hope there is some light for you soon 🙂

  3. corymbia says:

    Thanks leechbabe – I see you are also a stress-cleaner. Something about washing away grime must be therapeutic. and I know what you mean about walking … I used to love to take long walks before we had kids. Now they want to come with me and it isn’t quite the same….

    and STS …another good tip. Actually, I really felt like a glass of champagne (my drink of choice) on the weekend, but didn’t have the heart to suggest it to hubby…. Must buy some more single-serve bottles.

  4. Greta says:

    My ways of coping with stress are probably not terribly advisable! LOL… like lying awake at night with the same thought going round like a broken record – I don’t recommend that one at all!

    I stress-clean. I think I escape through surfing the net. I read books to escape.

    When I’m ready to confront, I journal. I find writing a journal really helps get everything out, so I can look at it, make sense of it, and deal with it as well as possible.

    I find it is particularly helpful in situations like yours, when nothing can be done and the only path is to accept reality. It doesn’t make it go away, but it does bring me some peace. It might not work for you, everyone is so different.

    Writing letters helps some people.

    There are resources out there (books, websites, DVDs, online groups) for people who have family members who are ill. The cancer council have a booklet specifically for people in our position and it has a list of useful rescources. As my dad isn’t dying at this point, I haven’t looked into this too much, but I did find the cancer council pamphlet useful. I know prostate cancer sufferers have their own discussion boards online, and there are other discussion boards for their family members. I would imagine that you’d find something similar for breast cancer.

    Many grief counsellors are trained to deal with loved ones in the lead-up to death (they say that people often start the grieving process well before someone is dying, but that it is a very personal and individual journey).

    Hope these help.

    I hope you don’t mind me being a bit blunt. I just thought it’s better not to mince around.

    I hope you find some way to bring yourself strength. All the best and keep us posted…

  5. corymbia says:

    Thanks, you gorgeous woman 🙂

    I am spending a lot of time online atm doing various things … some of them even productive for my uni course!

    Writing this blog helps a bit too. being able to tell someone that I feel *angry* helps because that’s not something I can easily share with my hubby now.

    I must look into the cancer council stuff – I looked into it all back when Father-in-law was sick.

    …and don’t ever apologise to me for being “blunt” … I like that you say what you think!

  6. *puts hand up as another stress cleaner*

    and I forget to eat until I am so hungry that I eat everything not nailed down.

  7. corymbia says:

    It seems stress cleaning is a bit of a “thing” with a lot of people. (Apparently I’m not too stressed today as my house looks like a tip again and somebody seems to have been potting plants up in the bath tub)…. anyhoo…

    As for forgetting to eat – I tend to break out the chocolate earlier rather than later when I’m feeling a bit frazzled.

Leave a Reply

