A new kind of spider

Hubby’s favourite t-shirt  has pictures of large Redback spiders all over it.

(Redback spiders – Latrodectus hasselti – are considered one of the most dangerous spiders in Australia. The Redback spider has a neurotoxic venom which is toxic to humans with bites causing severe pain).

Photobucket

He loves this shirt, but hasn’t worn it for a while.

So when Mr H saw his dad wearing the shirt last weekend, he madly started  squealing and wildly gesticulating as only a 4 year old boy can.

“Maaaate” says Hubby “What’s the problem?”

“Arghhhh Spiders” says H.  “They are REDNECK spiders Dad – they are soooo dangerous”.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Henceforth at Casa del Corymbia, the humble but  deadly redback spider shall be known as a REDNECK spider.

9 thoughts on “A new kind of spider

  1. Greta says:

    Redneck spider, heh – I love the innocent spoonerisms that come out of kid’s mouths… my son likes it when we go to a cafe for a ‘cup of cino’ – (his does not contain coffee, in case you wondered! LOL) I can’t think of too many others right now…

  2. corymbia says:

    ‘cup of cino’ – heh

  3. I hate you.

    Open up your blog and see THAT!?

    I will be freaking out all day thinking they are crawling on me.

  4. corymbia says:

    Heh – creepy little buggers aren’t they?
    ….and I changed the title to include the word ‘spider’ *specifically* to warn you!
    Now take some deep breaths and scroll down to the last post and watch the silly dancing man … unless of course you hate watching bad dancing as much as elephants do.

  5. blkcurrant says:

    I love the idea of calling them redneck spiders! I wont feel so guilty anymore when i squish them under my blunnies. I get quite a few of them around here but they never seem to scare me as much as huntsman spiders which just totally FREAK ME OUT coz they move so darn quick.

  6. corymbia says:

    We used to have heaps of the little blighters here and I’d always be on the lookout for them. But now we seem to be overrun with Daddy Long Legs spiders which do seem to keep the rednecks away. Apparently huntsmen spiders can kill rednecks too – so I’m more than happy to play host to those spiders 🙂
    Personally, I can deal with spiders, but snakes make my insides go all wobbly. Hubby had to do a catch and release on a little carpet snake yesterday and it was all I could do not to demand he chop it in to tiny pieces and feed its remains to the chooks (poetic justice??). Not terribly PC, but I *hate* snakes.

  7. leechbabe says:

    Ick :: shudder :: spider.

    But totally cute kiddie quote ‘redneck spider’ 😀

  8. corymbia says:

    another arachnophobe!
    Calling them “redneck spiders” does make them that much cuter though 😉

  9. unknown says:

    interesting… i’ve never heard of them being called redbacks before; i’ve only known them as black widows…

Leave a Reply

