Christmas Eve

Christmas Eve is a special day in our family.  (Well OK, I know its a special day for lots of families, but its extra special in this family).

For me it has twice marked the day of indescribable joy for my hubby and I.  You see, on Christmas Eve in both 2001 AND 2003 we got positive pregnancy tests.

In 2001, we had been trying to conceive a child for over a year.   To cut a long story short, I ended up seeing a chiropractor who saw the connection between a curvature of my lower spine on an x-ray and my inability to retain a fertilised egg inside my body for more than about1 day.  Bing Bang Boom … and crack …and another Bang…. and I was pregnant within 4 weeks  with a girl who’s now 6.  …and the day I got the Very Clear And Not At All Faint pregnancy test was Christmas Eve.

Fast forward to August 2003.  Miss K is one and we think “if we want another child, we’d best get cracking in case it takes another year to get pregnant” … only to have a condom break and we discovered we were up the duff again.  What joy.  No anxious 2 week wait. Just joy.

But.

At 10 weeks into the pregnancy, the bleeding began.  The little mite had gone and died on us at 7 weeks and my body was only just letting go.  The D&C was scheduled and we were a sad little family … but thankfully having a little person to come home to softened the blow.

That happened in November 2003.  It was a sad time for us.  ..and Christmas was coming up fast.  and I wanted to make sure Christmas was special for my gorgeous little girl.  So I sucked it up …  and it took a huge effort but I was determined that Christmas would not be a sad day.

… but with Christmas, cometh the Christmas party.  And with the Christmas Party cometh the alcohol.  …and since the predicted post-D&C-Aunt-Flo had not cometh,  I took another wee test to see if I could safely quaff a few vinos.. ’cause … you know I was gonna need the alcohol content this Christmas.

BFP!

Photobucket
Joy.  Complete Joy for it was again Christmas Eve and I was holding the evidence that there was a little life inside moi.

Then terror … for the entire 34* weeks until my boy was born.  (He’s now 4 and adorable).

So now you see why  Christmas Eve is one of my favourite days of the year.

…and now its your turn   –  what’s your favourite thing about Christmas Eve?

*The pg was a full 40 weeks 2 days term – its just that I found out I was preggers when I was already 6 weeks along.

8 thoughts on “Christmas Eve

  1. Greta says:

    Wow, merry Christmas, eh? Lovely Christmas presents. Wow, I bet that’s a story you recount every year now, what a lovely affirmation for your kids.

    I’m sorry that you miscarried though, that would be so harrowing.

    As a kid, my mother used to light candles and read the Christmas story – a tradition I loved and plan to do myself. I remember tossing and turning, trying to get to sleep, thinking about Santa. Miraculously, he always did manage to come in after I fell asleep.

    My favourite things about Christmas eve changed after I became a mum myself. I love the excited look on my boy’s face as we leave food out for Santa, I love sneaking in and popping the stocking up, and laying out the presents under the tree.

    I’m having Christmas on my birthday (new years eve) this year, because my little one isn’t here – so I’m pretending Christmas is still a week away!

    I just love Christmas, all of it. It’s a sacred time, I believe.

  2. corymbia says:

    What a sweet childhood memory. …and then getting the delight of rediscovering the joy as a parent 🙂
    (… and big hugs to you for today – Merry un-Christmas )

  3. mel says:

    I like staying up with hubby and wrapping stuff. we get to actually spend time together! with 3 it doesnt happen often.and we go looking at lights before everyone takes them down,,,,
    Merry Christmas!

  4. greta32 says:

    Mel, are you THE Mel? If you are, then you’ll know what I mean! If you don’t know what I mean, don’t worry about it! LOL

  5. greta32 says:

    Hope you’re having a lovely Christmas, Amanda, and that you family has wonderful things in store for 2009.

  6. corymbia says:

    He he – thanks Ggg and Mel (and G – of course its our Mel;)

    Thanks for the Christmas Eve stories and the wishes.

    Mel – hop you enjoyed your kid-free time with hubby.
    ..and G – hope you survived OK – was thinking about you, whilst talking to the Big Guy yesterday.

  7. I fell pregnant with Boo soon after a D&C too!

    Must have been the renovations.

    My favourite Xmas Eve was when Moo was 1 and I was incubating Too. HUGE electrical storm so we laid out the mattresses near the french doors and watched it.

  8. corymbia says:

    Kelley – I’ve heard of so many people who’ve had a D&C only to become pregnant again almost straight away.
    We love watching electrical storms to – and we’ve had a few in SEQ lately. We get a grandstand view of storms from our verandah.

Leave a Reply

