Needs must, when the devil vomits into your kettle

Never ever ask the Big Bloke Upstairs “what else could go wrong” because the bugger will show you.

So you know I’ve been a bit preoccupied with my mother-in-law finding out she had breast cancer and then a huge aortic aneurysm within the space of about 6 weeks.

This pretty much sucks the most out of things right now, but we did get a little kicker when the devil did indeed vomit into our kettle today:
My 6 year old darling girl fell off the flying fox at school and broke her humerus (big long bone at the top of your arm –  not humorous as in funny).  Its very very unfunny.

The first thing I said was ratfucksonofabitch (yes reader, my knowledge of interesting swear words is improving thanks to the awesome Kelley at Magneto Bold Too).

Then I refrained from swearing too loudly for the next 5 hours between finding her in the school health room in agony and sitting next to a girl who was violently throwing up (please God – I’m sorry about that “bugger” comment above – please don’t give her the spews as well), having the brain-dead secretary-come-“nurse”  fart about for 5 minutes before she’s let me sign her out, then driving to the GP around the corner (who at least were compassionate enough to tell us to go straight to the hospital because it would ultimately save us time), then getting to the hospital (half an hour away) even though every slow truck in Eastern Australia pulled out in front of me on the way there, then waiting for the triage nurse (thank goodness he had painkillers), then waiting for an x-ray and having my girl scream in agony the entire time (thank goodness the dude was waaay fast and good at his job), then waiting for the Dr, then waiting for him to talk to another Dr, then waiting for the first Dr to find the right bandages, then the right sling.

Poor kid was starving and thirsty but couldn’t have anything in case they needed to operate  (hopefully they won’t but we still need to see an orthopaedic surgeon next week).  She was so brave the whole time, the little trooper.

So Big Fella – I’m not going to ask you anything about other things that could happen.  I’m sure there are many many more things that could go wrong just now, but I don’t want to know, thanks all the same.

8 thoughts on “Needs must, when the devil vomits into your kettle

  1. What the fuck is going on? But that’s three right and bad things come in threes – so you’re done now.

    Go and buy some thick marker pens for writing on the plaster cast.

  2. corymbia says:

    Yes – you are all right – this has just Got To Be #3 of Bad Things by now.
    …and flying foxes are the work of the devil

    Thanks for the good thoughts and smooches – you all ROCK.

  3. leechbabe says:

    I’m also hoping this is a case of bad things come in threes.

    Hope your little girl has some good drugs and the arm heals well.

  4. Flying Foxes are the devils work.

    90% of broken arms are from falling from them.

    OK, I totally made that up. But they are evil.

    Smootches for you AND your brave girl!

  5. Fiona says:

    Bugger. Yep- bugger. Let’s hope this is the last of the buggers for a very long time.

  6. corymbia says:

    Fiona, Liz and Greta – Thanks for your thoughts … but I’m not sure when its going to end (see next post).

    And G – yeah – I kept thinking that I’d do anything to take the pain away.

  7. Liz says:

    Jeez – that is such a lot of bad luck! Hope things improve soon.

  8. Greta says:

    Ouch… poor little thing –

    Seeing Kids in pain makes me so sad – funny how becoming a mother lowers your tolerance. And when it’s your own kids it’s like “if I could transfer the fracture into my own body I would gladly do it, if it meant I didn’t have to watch my little darling in pain..” ((((A AND K)))))

    You’re having a rough trot, aren’t you? (((A))) – hope this is the last of your bad luck…

Leave a Reply

